## NASPA Membership Meeting Minutes June 28, 2013

The NASPA membership met on June 28, 2013, at the Lied Lodge in Nebraska City, Nebraska.

Approximately 25 members were present. President Kevin Chick called the meeting to order.

Nancy Biggs moved and Sue Wright second to approve the minutes from the June 2012 meeting. Motion carried.

Eric Weber moved and Rene Hyde seconded to approve the treasurer's report. Motion carried.

NASPA accomplishments for 2012/2013 included:

- Quarterly Executive Board meetings
- 501c6 status Approved
- Amended Constitution to include Members-At-Large and changed executive board length of terms
- Created website
- NCSA managing NASPA finances and conference arrangements
- Membership Growth 15 new members
  - o 49 members
  - 26 school districts
  - o Representing 126,000+ Nebraska students
  - Added registration box to NCSA membership form
  - Sent welcome email and contact information to each new member
- Strong presence and involvement in the Teacher/Principal Frameworks discussions
- Organized all minutes/agendas from previous conferences in one location
- Created NASPA e-mail NASPAnews@gmail.com
- Presentation topics
  - o Presented at Education Forum in Kearney, NASBO, Admin Days
  - Upcoming presentation at Administrator Days
- Created new membership brochure and sponsorship brochure

Erin Heinemann moved and Mimi Goings seconded to change the terms of the President, President-Elect and Past President to 2 year terms. Motion carried.

Erin Heinemann has created the NASPA website and the website address is naspa.weebly.com. Amy Poggenklass will link the NASPA website to the NCSA website.

NASPA continuing projects for 2013/2014 include:

- Create more presentations
- Increase presentation venues
- Maintain and continue to develop website

## Future meetings:

- AASPA: San Antonio October 1-4
- MVSPA: Lincoln, Embassy Suites December 5-6
- NASPA 2014: Nebraska City June

Kay Byers moved and Kevin Wibbels seconded to release Kay Byers from her position as President-Elect. Motion carried.

Kay Byers moved and Nancy Biggs seconded to nominate and elect Eric Weber for the office of President-Elect. Motion carried.

Mimi Goings moved and Eric Weber seconded to nominate and elect Renee Hyde as Legislative Liaison. Motion carried.

Rene Hyde moved and Dave Melick seconded to nominate and elect Jill Gill as Member at Large. Motion carried.

Executive Board for 2013-2014

President – Kevin Chick President-Elect – Eric Weber Past President – Sharra Smith Secretary/Treasurer – Jenise Straight Member at Large – Erin Heineman Member at Large Jill Gill

Meeting adjourned.

Jenise L. Straight
NASPA Secretary/Treasurer